7047449-your_right_of_access_north_korea
Your Entry Pass to North Korea

Travelling in North Korea – 2014

During my time in North Korea I visited the capital, Pyongyang, and a number of other locations (see below) including Sinuiju on the northern border with China. Sinuiju has only recently opened to overseas tourists (excluding those from the USA and South Korea).

There is no such thing as independent travel in North Korea. All travel is as part of a group (which can be one) and you will be accompanied by a minimum of two guides and a driver at all times.

For many years, I have had more than a superficial interest in North Korea. Some of my lingering questions on the country were answered during my visit, some former opinions and impressions have changed but overall I have come away with more questions than I had when I arrived.

Between my general entries and my location specific entries on this blog I have attempted to present a fair picture of what I saw and heard in North Korea and add a bit of levity here and there to what otherwise might be very serious blog entries.

7076158-kim_il_sung_and_kim_jong_il_pyongyang
The Eternal Supreme and Dear Leaders

The image presented in this blog is not a balanced picture of North Korea but rather, as I have just said, a picture of what I saw and heard. Make no mistake about it, what you see and hear in North Korea is exactly as the Government wish you to see and hear – it is pro-North Korean and anti-American, in particular.

A lot of the views, etc presented in my entries are contested outside North Korea and the alternative view can be readily found on the net and elsewhere. There are two sides to most stories.

That said, the guides we had were the most wonderful and charming people you could meet. They held their views very strongly but were not out to ‘convert’ anyone to their cause and likewise you should not go to North Korea to ‘convert’ North Koreans to your cause. Should you visit, go to engage and you will enjoy your trip and learn from it as everyone, without exception, in our group did. Our group was about one third American.

While I think I have succeeded in keeping my own political view of things out of my blog entries I certainly did try hard, while there, to differentiate between fact, conjecture and fable. The outcome of that differentiation is best reserved for a chat over a glass of good red.

While there are rules and restrictions on travel to and within North Korea my trip was a fantastic experience which I hope to repeat in the not to distant future.

If you haven’t been to North Korea I hope my blog entries here will inspire a visit to this remarkable country. If you have been, enjoy my take on the country – whether you agree with my musings or not.

7150243-petrol_baked_clams_adding_petrol_nampo
Try Some Petrol Baked Clams in Nampo

Guide to my North Korea Blog Entries

If you would like to read about my visit to North Korea in a logical (at least to me) order, I suggest the following approach.

Start with my North Korea – General category (you are there !)  entries and read then in the order linked at the bottom of each entry – starting with the link at the bottom of this one. After that continue on to my specific location categories in the order listed below, starting with the capital, Pyongyang.

All location entries are linked as ‘tours’ – Travel Loops.  While sights, etc are, in the main, presented in the sequence that I visited them this is not always the case. This is especially so with Pyongyang as while we went into and out off it on a number of occasions I have presented it as if all sights were visited in one sitting.

Pyongyang

Kaesong

Panmunjom (DMZ)

Nampo

Mt Myohyang

Sinuiju

I trust you enjoy reading my North Korean entries as much as I have enjoyed writing them.

7054663-reunification_mural_panmunjom_ni
Reunification Mural at Panmunjom (DMZ)

What to call the Country?

North Korea is an abbreviated (and not one accepted within the country) version of the country’s officially recognised and pretty much universally accepted name – the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (the DPRK).

While the USA seems to accept the official long form name of the country it uses North Korea as a short form. The Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade use DPRK as a short form.

Within the country it is referred to as Korea in the short form and the area covered by both long and short form titles, within the country, is the full Korean Peninsula, the southern part of which is currently and temporarily occupied by foreign imperialistic forces.

In my entries I have used whichever term I felt like at the time of writing and nothing should be drawn from what name I have used.


This blog entry is the first in a group (loop) of entries providing general and background information on The Rambling Wombat’s trip to, and travelling in, North Korea which I recommend you read in a particular order.  I suggest you continue with my next entry – Getting into the North Korea – By Air.


.  

17 thoughts on “And Now for Something Completely Different

  1. Hello again, Albert.

    I have “dipped a toe” into your Korean pages before but now I think I shall read the whole thing cover to cover. Let’s be honest, I have nothing else to do stuck indoors all the time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you find them interesting and though provoking. Bare in mind they are based on what I saw, heard, felt in NK and thus are one-sided. Some aspects are best discussed of line and indeed Sarah and I will be having a good old chin wag when I make it to London next… you would be more than welcome to join us.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I hear what you say, my friend. I’d love to finally meet you and Sarah and I are tentatively planning a meet when circumstances allow. Last time I saw her was a year ago in the rub-up to Xmas 2019, it has been far too long.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yes, as soon as it’s allowed to meet in a reasonably sized group we will do so. Colin & Josephine would love to come down for it if feasible, as they had to cancel an October visit to London.

          [Apologies to Albert for hijacking his blog to discuss our social lives in London :lol:)

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Reading again as I hope to be visiting next year (as you know!) I am curious about any restrictions placed on your blogging. The UK tour company we would use are very keen that visitors keep any blogging very neutral in tone, with no comment on the political situation in N Korea or any aspect of how the country is run. This is understandable given the potential impact on their business if negative comments (or comments perceived as negative) are attributed to a member of one of their tour groups and restrictions placed on them in terms of taking other groups in the future. I have been told that they like if possible to vet any lengthy blogs (and we both know mine will be lengthy!) before posting. Did the company you used place any restrictions along these lines?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Sarah, short answer to above is Yes though the restriction is generally only applied commercial blogs and writing for mainstream media eg a newspaper. My reading is that they like to be advised of personal blogs such that they can read them (hopefully for their enjoyment!). I asked them to clear my 2014 blog when I originally wrote it on VT. It was cleared with no requests for change. On both visits I had to sign a certification that should the tour company loose in anyway due to my writings I would compensate it. In reality such declarations are difficult to enforce but I would not want to, in any way, cause damage to the company so I will exercise self moderation. While I took a large number of photos I would not publish a significant number of them as they be construed as painting the country in a bad light. Of course its often how you say something that will /will not cause offence. You will have noted my ‘disclaimers’ in the four paras below the Leader’ monument above. My upcoming entries will be significantly more political than those from the last trip and will reflect my pro reunification stance based on my view that it is a matter for North and South Korea – a view that aligns with the North’s positions and indeed the South’s if only it were in a position to espouse it publicly. Talk to you western guide while on tour and you will ascertain what is acceptable. I am comfortable writing again in anticipation that what I write will receive no or minimal editing.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks Albert. Our Western guide (should we go – still not 100% decided!) would be the guy also advising me about the tour, who mentioned the blogging restrictions to me when we were chatting last week, so I’m sure he could give me guidance along the way 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment