IMG_0605

While the primary theme of this blog is travel I will, from time to time, indulge myself (if not my Dear Reader) and venture into other areas.

As such, this entry, the culmination of a visit to the excellent Farmer’s Market in Canberra this morning, seeks to share my exploits in the kitchen. As it was, Andy was off gallivanting in Europe (work, he says) leaving me to fend for myself. ‘Shame, Shame on him!’ I hear you shout!

Lest my Reader think otherwise, I have dabbled in the culinary world previously and have been an avid armchair reader of a cooking magazine – Delicious – for a number of years. My UK reader may be familiar with the magazine, also published there – if somewhat toned down to suit the less sophisticated epicurean tastes of the local citizenry (only kidding).

Tonight I had Creamy Cauliflower and Blue Cheese Pappardelle. I chose this dish as Andy is a fan of neither cauliflower nor blue cheese though he is coming around, of late, to the latter.

Up front, I will admit that I made two very serious mistakes in my visit to the kitchen this evening – thankfully both were easily rectified. Problem one is clearly evident in the first picture below with the solution depicted in the second.

Having got that sorted out, on to the cooking – the ingredients and method are lifted straight from the ‘Delicious’ website (http://www.delicious.com.au/recipes/creamy-cauliflower-blue-cheese-pappardelle/YXKw78M8?current_section=recipes). The annotations in orange are mine and all photos are mine.

While I have left the recipe in its original, being only one person tonight I roughly divided things in three. I found the final outcome to be a little on the large side, though I managed!

Vital Stats

Serves – 4-6 , Prep Time 10mins , Cooking Time – 30mins, Difficulty – Easy

So far so good.

Ingredients

  • 2 tbs olive oil, plus extra to drizzle
  • 1 red onion, cut into wedges
  • 1 small head (about 900g) cauliflower, trimmed, thickly sliced
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • ½ cup (60g) chopped hazelnuts
  • 500g dried pappardelle pasta (I used fresh pappardelle from the Canberra Farmers’ Market)
  • 150g gorgonzola dolce, crumbled (I suggest a bit more – personal taste)
  • Finely grated zest of ½ a lemon
  • 60g baby rocket
  • Freshly ground black pepper, to serve

I also seasoned with salt and freshly ground back pepper during the cooking process.

Method

1 Heat oil in a large frypan over medium-high heat. In 2 batches, cook onion and cauliflower, stirring occasionally, for 8 minutes or until cauliflower is golden and just tender. Return all cauliflower mixture to pan and stir through garlic and hazelnuts. Cook, stirring occasionally, for 2 minutes or until hazelnuts start to turn golden. Season with salt and pepper. Remove from heat and set aside.

 

2 Meanwhile, cook pappardelle according to packet instructions (I used fresh pappadelle). Drain, reserving 1/3 cup (80ml) cooking liquid.

3 Combine cream and three-quarters of the cheese in a saucepan over medium-high heat and simmer, stirring occasionally, for 2 minutes or until reduced slightly. Stir through lemon zest.

4 Return cauliflower mixture to the stove over high heat and, working quickly, toss pasta, reserved cooking liquid and cheese sauce through the cauliflower mixture. Fold through rocket and remaining cheese, and drizzle with extra oil. Sprinkle with pepper and serve immediately.

IMG_0603

So far so good, again.

At the beginning of this entry I admitted to two mistakes. My particularly astute reader may have noted the second one already. Clearly this dish is better suited to a white wine rather than a red! You will note from my lead picture that this error was also readily and easily corrected.

A nice easy but delicious dish – do give it a go.

6 thoughts on “Creamy Cauliflower and Blue Cheese Pappardelle

Leave a Reply

