77

One evening I had a sudden urge for Thai food but didn’t want to walk or travel too far from my hotel (The Grace) in the centre of Sydney.

Regent Place, close to the Town Hall and less than five minutes walk, came to mind as I had eaten there a few times, though not Thai. Regent Place is a throughway between George Street and Kent Street and contains about a dozen upcoming quality eateries. On the lower level I found what I was looking for – a Thai Restaurant called Senyai.

78The restaurant is long and narrow and aims to recreate a laneway diner in Bangkok. In fact, it was constructed from timber from a traditional teak house from Samut Songkhram, outside Bangkok. It has a nice warm and friendly air about it and boasts a fairly authentic Thai interior decor – complete with a picture of the late Thai King.

The food is reasonably priced with a seafood Pad Thai and a Singha Thai beer setting me back around A$24 (2015), if I recall correctly. (Not much more in June 2017 when I ate there last). As I wasn’t overly hungry I didn’t have a starter or dessert. The range of starters looked good while the dessert menu was rather sparse looking, but that said I rarely have desserts in Asian restaurants, preferring to move on elsewhere for coffee and dessert.

Sydney is full of Thai restaurants and Senyai is certainly a cut above the average and the food much more authentic than most.

79

My Pad Thai was great though a little hotter (as in chilli hot) would have suited me. I typically order extra fresh chilli or chilli oil though didn’t on this occasion so others with less of a taste for hot food may have found the Pad Thai to have been sufficiently hot as served.

Service was good and the staff friendly and helpful.

While I entered Regent Place from George Street (No 501) the Senyai is on the Kent Street end of Regent Place hence the official Kent Street address given below.

Opening Hours: 11am -10.30pm

Address: Regent Place, 486 Kent Street, Sydney
Price Comparison: about average
Directions: Regent Place also be entered from 501 George Street
Phone: 02 9283 8686
Website: http://www.senyai.com.au


This is my last Sydney – City – TOWNHALL review.
For other Sydney reviews click HERE.


 

Leave a Reply

