3

……or, a day at the beach.

Looking at pictures of an empty beach and dejected looking funfair rides, my Reader might be forgiven for wondering why I have chosen the title I have for this review. I would have expected a similar reaction had I entitled this review ‘Ireland’s Premiere Seaside Resort’. Both terms are taken from the town’s tourist literature.

What makes things worse is that the photographs were taken on a weekend in early August, the very height of the tourist season.

Anyone familiar with Ireland will know that even in the height of summer you can, and do, get the most wet and miserable of days. This particular Sunday morning had been awful and while things were clearing up in the afternoon when I took the attached photographs the day had been lost from a visitor perspective.

While I was visiting Bundoran for the first time in over 30 years, I grew up in neighbouring Co. Fermanagh and Bundoran was ‘the’ seaside resort to go to for family day-trips when I was growing up.

Family members, still living in Fermanagh, assert that 30 years on Bundoran is still a great place to go for a day-trip or slightly longer break, especially when the weather is good. I would also add that besides the beach and the outdoor fun-fairs there is also lots to do in and around Bundoran outside summer and in less clement weather.

For those into the beach, on a sunny summer’s day this place is buzzing and should you visit you will not be disappointed though even in the height of summer, I would not dream of getting into the water, though many do. To cold for me. That said, I do love walking along this beach and the headland above it. More on the latter in a separate review.

In terms of beach-side amusements people with, or indeed without, children will not be disappointed with the offerings of the various fun fairs and the indoor rides and games offered by numerous arcades along the main street. I would have taken some photos had everything not been closed, due to the weather, on the day of my visit……


This blog entry is one of a group (loop) of entries on Bundoran, Ireland. I suggest you continue with my next entry – Republican Garden – or to start the loop at the beginning go to my introductory entry – On The Wild Atlantic Way.


 

Leave a Reply

