46

When I am in Sydney for work, or when I can otherwise afford it, I like to stay at the Grace Hotel, conveniently located in the centre of the city.

On the ground floor of the Grace, through a totally separate business with separate street access as well, is P.J O’Brien’s Irish Pub.

P.J’s, as it is affectionately known, is a top place for a pint of Guinness in the city centre and indeed one of the best I have encountered outside Ireland. They also sell other drinks, including half pints of Guinness for the lady, or the gent, not up to a pint!

I most frequently imbibe here of a Sunday night, a night cap as it were, when I arrive into Sydney for work the following day. As such, I get here around 9pm so, while still busy, it’s not as hectic and is consequently less noisy than it is at other times.

On my most recent visit to Sydney I thought to have a quiet dinner here one week night evening – they have a fairly decent menu with a distinct Irish focus and the food is good. I entered via one door and immediately exited the other – the noise was unbearable, given my disposition for a quiet dinner and a drink. Moral here is that if you want a quiet night out look elsewhere, If you’re looking for the ‘craic’, as they say back in Ireland, then P.J O’Brien’s should be the place for you.

P.J’s is certainly in a class above the average overseas ‘Irish pub’ which all to frequently has no more of an Irish feel than a strip joint in Bangkok – not that I have personally tested the Irishness of the latter – I merely suspect!

Back to P.J’s, if I may and if you will?

They have live music on Thursdays, Fridays and Sundays, Sunday being traditional Irish music night. Quizzes, screened Australian and European football matches, themed dinners and more also feature here. Check out the website for details

My internal picture was taken mid-afternoon when the ‘craic’ had not yet begun. As daylight fades the ‘craic’ begins!

Opening hours – Good, though I can’t confirm them. Do note however, that in accordance with new licensing laws for Sydney CBD venues no new patrons are permitted into a pub after 1am. You must be in the venue before 1am otherwise you will not be permitted entry.


For my next Sydney – City – BRIDGE STREET TO MARTIN PLACE review click HERE.
For other Sydney reviews click HERE.


Leave a Reply

