Of late I have taken a liking to street art – aka graffiti. Lest my Reader think that I have developed anti-social tendencies in my advancing years, I assure you I am absolutely against wanton destruction of public or private property by tasteless tagging and the like.

Back to Riga, I actually only recall seeing one piece of real graffiti and a quite nice piece at that, on an underpass, from a tram I was taking to the Moscow District / former Jewish Ghetto areas of the city. Had I had more time to explore further away from the Old City area I imagine I would have found lots more. I can’t imagine Riga being very different from other larger cities anywhere in the world in this regard.

192

Given the three images above, the title of this review is a bit of an exaggeration. Irrespective of that, I came across these opportunistic pieces on a building within a few metres of the Swedish Gate and loved them.

I imagine that by the time you make it to Riga they will have been painted over. You are however likely to see the more permanent display in picture 4, also on Trokšnu Iela, and lots of colourful window boxes as in image 5.

I do love coming across little side attractions when I travel and Riga certainly did not disappoint in this regard.

Location: Trokšnu Iela and many other places for those with open eyes.


This blog entry is one of a group (loop) of entries on the Old City area of Riga. I suggest you continue with my next entry – The Three Brothers – or to start the loop at the beginning go to my first entry – SamaraH Hotel Metropole – Riga.


4 thoughts on “‘Graffiti’ in the Old City

Leave a Reply

