003

If these beautiful little tranquil gardens were in any other city in the world I would recommend you visit them to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. I can hardly do that for Jamestown, as, off course, there is no hustle and bustle to get away from!

For Jamestown just further indulge yourself and visit. Your whole trip is one of self-indulgence after all!

The gardens (called the Castle Gardens as they belong to the neighbouring “castle”) could be circumnavigated in less than two minutes but do spend a little longer and enjoy the abundance of tropical plants and some of the islands endemic plants including the rediscovered Island Ebony. Sit and enjoy the shelter from the giant ficus trees.

While in the gardens have a look at the Waterwitch Memorial – a memorial to crew members of Her Majesty’s Brig Waterwitch lost in their efforts to rid the South Atlantic of slave trafficking in the mid 1800s (see my separate review).

Frequent readers of my blog will know that I am not a great fan of modern art – though for some peculiar reason as I age my distaste of it lessens. Coming to one of the remotest and hardest to get to locations in the world I thought I would have escaped the clutches of this artistic style. Low and behold, I was not to be spared and came across a topiary hand complete with fingernails and watch as depicted below.

004

Another or additional way to enjoy the gardens is to ensconce yourself, with a coffee, other beverage or indeed a meal, on the balcony of Anne’s Place – a café/restaurant in the corner of, and overlooking, the gardens.

The gardens were constructed in 1792 by soldiers, in lieu of corporal punishment. So that you don’t feel overcome by guilt over this fact please be assured they are now maintained by paid gardeners – European Union rules (yes they apply here – though may not be universally adhered too – hard to check up on the Saints!) wouldn’t have it any other way!

The gardens are open around the clock and are free to enter.


This blog entry is one of a group (loop) of entries on my trip to St Helena.  I suggest you continue with my next entry – Waterwitch Memorial – or to start the loop at the beginning go to my St Helena Introduction entry.


One thought on “The Castle Gardens

Leave a Reply

